A Mixtape for Winter

I make CDs for K every other month. But for you, dear readers, I’m only going to do so with the changing of the seasons. The reasons for this are several; a) I need to make sure I really like the songs before I blast the across the internet and declare them to be what could be my questionable taste, and b) because if you absolutely hate my taste in music then you only have one post every four months to ignore.

There are several covers on this mix, which is sort of rare for me. I enjoy hearing other people’s renditions of songs I know, but I usually like to keep them separate, listening to them on occasion. Certainly not mix worthy. But it’s winter now and four of them made the cut. In fact the last four on this mixtape. I think a reason for that is comfort. In winter you want to hermit, you want to bundle and cling to the familiar because sometimes it’s just too damn cold to explore.

Some of these songs are fun, some are slow, some are sad, but that’s why we call it a mix, no? Well maybe not. But I’m not all one thing and neither is the music I prefer. So, without further ado:

(click the CD cover to be directed to Mediafirefor downloadable versions of the songs)

1) In the Cold, Cold Night – The White Stripes

2) Slow Recovery – Lucy Woodward

3) Stumble – Natasha Bedingfield

4) Ghost – Little Boots

5) In Spirit Golden – I Blame Coco

6) My Boots – Lights

7) Cheers (I’ll Drink to That) – Rihanna

8 ) I Go Away – MNDR

9) When I’m Alone – Lissie

10) Don’t Be Funny – Dragonette

11) Breakin’ Up – Rilo Kiley

12) Head Over Heels – Digital Daggars

13) I Will Follow You Into the Dark – Amanda Palmer

14) Hackensack – Katy Perry

15) Toxic – Glee Cast

About Lindsay

I have a C'est Moi page, you should probably just read that.
This entry was posted in Mix Tape and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment