Weekly Roundup: February 20th, 2015

weekly roundupIn attempts to post more often I am starting a weekly roundup where I talk about what I’ve been up to that week. It may be benign, it might be exciting, but either way it’s going online.

Reading: How to Be a Heroine by Samantha Ellis.

how to be a heroine

When I reserved this book from the library I wasn’t sure I planned on reading it from cover to cover. But, I found a light but interesting memoir wrapped into the trappings of literary criticism. It was funny and Ellis’ thoughts on her favorite heroines made for good reading. Even if I didn’t always agree (I feel like her adult elf is way too critical of Cathy Earnshaw… which is funny since it seems to have been the catalyst for the entire book. People act rashly sometimes and make terrible mistakes. Cathy and Heathcliff aren’t really romantic heroes [though possibly Romantic]. I don’t want Heathcliff, but I want him for Cathy). Also, I think it’s entirely possible to love both Cathy and Jane Eyre, which Ellis apparently disagrees with. The author’s growing up in her Iraqi-Jewish community was interesting as well, though not the main focus of the story (is it possible to write about something you love with parts of yourself not bleeding through?). I like hearing about people’s life experiences and I knew nothing of Iraqi-Jews.

Listening to: “Nobody’s Empire” by Belle and Sebastian on repeat constantly from Cleveland Heights to Chagrin Falls. I don’t know, it’s catchy and captures that lolling pseudo-aristocratic lightness that I can never get enough of.

 

Watching: Black Sails

black sails

Why don’t I know anyone else who watches this damn show? Let’s be real, I’m likely to watch pretty much anything that involves pirates, as my summer of wearing a pirate hat daily and my viewership of the craptastic Crossbones will attest to, but this show is actually very good. It combines character’s from Robert Louis Stevenson’s Treasure Island with characters from history, like Anne Bonny (my mother didn’t know who she was and I despaired), Charles Vane, and Calico Jack Rackham. The first season I fully enjoyed but it was definitely slow burn. These aren’t goofy fun pirates like we might see in movies based off theme park rides (though not disparaging those, I like those, they are fun. Yes, all of them), they are much closer to what real pirates would have been like. They don’t pull many punches. The second season, which started about a month ago on Starz, grabbed me quicker than season one did and now I find myself anticipating Saturday nights. Not because I am any fun but because I can watch that pirate show.

Random: 

– I finally got to chicken paprikash ones from Pierogi Palace at the West Side Market. They were fabulous. I have never managed to actually get them before because they always sell out before I can get my butt out of bed and over to Ohio City. I have also gotten pretty good at cooking pierogies. The key is to keep the temperature low and let them brown on both sides without burning.

– Due to my babysitting job, I have watched so much Octonauts in the past week that I am waking up singing a song about a creature report. I have also learned about the existence of the vampire squid. And that it speaks with a Transylvanian accent.

About Lindsay

I have a C'est Moi page, you should probably just read that.
This entry was posted in Everything in Between and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

