Like a Soft Watch

Terrible week. Terrible. It resembled this:

Work is doing everything it can in order to convince me it’s some elaborate ruse to slowly ingratiate Hell on Earth. HOE. That might be what I call it from now on. I’m seriously considering permanently marking “Abandon all hope ye who enter here” on the front door. One would think that Virgil giving me my initial tour would have been a tip off. Alas, I’m not as quick on the uptake as Alighieri. Uh, please make me stop expounding on this. It was a very bad week.

I broke my phone. In a fit of rage I dropped (slash, threw) it in my car and when I picked it up the screen was shattered. In my defense, I didn’t mean to throw it and it certainly didn’t seem as if I did so very hard. In fact it was light enough that I’ve managed to convince myself I dropped it, but the truth is probably much more basic. I see red. Sometimes maroon. Anyway, it was an expensive lesson.

But on the up side, this exists:

and it might be the funniest thing I’ve seen in awhile. Also there were some Egg Nog Pancakes at IHOP, which is disgusting but I secretly love with all my tiny heart. They tasted like the sweetest thing on earth and nothing like egg nog. I liked them. There were also work friends, who will never read this but are greatly appreciated.

And, god this is so much worse than anything else, I’m back on Teen Fiction. I don’t know why I eat this crap up. I’m all about some Young Adult, in general I think it’s pretty keen all the creative stuff they’ve got out there (the Harry Potters, the Hunger Games, the His Dark Materials..es) that I read an article about lately. I think someone posted it on facebook. It was about how children’s literature has changed over the years towards more violent, dark stuff. Philip Pullman, author of the aforementioned His Dark Materials trilogy (The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass), said something about (and I wont quote him because I don’t remember the quote nor do I think I could find the article) how writing Young Adult fiction is a much more freeing experience than writing adult fiction because it’s easier to use the creativity needed for the story. It’s believably when it’s geared towards kids, even when it’s mostly adults reading it. I might be sort of writing a young adult series. Mostly in my head and in between writing actual things. No one will ever hear about this again.

But anyway, those aren’t even the books I’m really talking about. I’m currently making my way through a tiny tome called The Boyfriend List, just because I’m trying to remember what it felt like to go to a tiny preparatory school. I don’t even know how I could forget. Oh well, I guess I always have my reasons. But I probably wont always admit them.

About Lindsay

I have a C'est Moi page, you should probably just read that.
This entry was posted in Everything in Between and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

