Weekly Crush.

Neil Gaiman

How You Know Him:

Because he wrote awesome books like American Gods, Anansi Boys, Neverwhere, Stardust, Coraline, Angels and Visitations, Fragile Things, MirrorMask, Good Omens (with Terry Pratchett), Odd and the Frostgiants, The Graveyard Book, Smoke and Mirrors, Wolves in the Walls, as well as fairly epic comic Sandman and spin-off Death.

Why He’s Crushworthy:

I tend to revere those who create things I admire. And there is no doubt that Gaiman is a master of the weird, fantastical, and always endearing. In, possibly the most hilarious ever created, trailer for the 196- film Incubus staring William Shatner there is this one line where the melodramatic narrator quote a review; “Weird and wonderful”. Somehow, despite it’s entirely unrelated nature, this line always reminds me of Gaiman’s work.

His most famous work, as of late, is probably Coraline, simply because it was made into a really quite good movie in 200-. The plot, as such, consists of a somewhat adventurous girl, Coraline, who discovers a door in her house that leads to her other house and other mother, who [spoilers] really turns out to be a spidery being called the Beldam that feeds on the souls of small children. As far as quasi-children’s books go it’s pretty much perfect. A friend of mine, who admittedly was rather fond of me at the time, was convinced, upon reading this book that the character of Coraline somehow resembled me in childhood. She does.

While I have definitely not read everything by Gaiman I feel, somehow, as if I can say with resolution that the intricately crafted American Gods is his best. It follows a man named Shadow as he’s released from prison, to the alarming news that his wife has just been killed in a car crash, and takes up a job for a figure calling himself Wednesday. Pretty soon Shadow is living in a world where Gods scheme for power, roadside attractions are places of power, and the dead don’t always stay dead. It’s honestly just sort of amazing. There’s nothing else to say about it. Read it. Now.

And then, of course, there is that amazing episode of Doctor Who that he wrote for series six. I can’t even.

Gaiman also has the distinction of being the only one of my Weekly Crushes who I’ve met. And when I say met I really mean that I waited in a two hour long line to watch him speak and then stuck around a further three hours in order to have him sign my copy of American Gods and take a picture of him ignoring my presence as he had already moved on to sign someone else’s book. I begrudge the man nothing, he signed over one thousand books that day. He was really a remarkable sport in the face of apparent hordes of Clevelander fans. What’s more, he seemed gracious.

He also has one of the most puzzling marriages I’ve encountered. He’s married to Amanda Palmer, musician of solo and Dresden Dolls fame. I adore her for her over the top alternative spirit and creativity, but I’m fairly sure that if egos could talk hers would have recited an oration on par with the Gettysburg Address. I say this marriage is bizarre only because it seems so entirely rare that the two of them are in the same country. They both travel for the many projects they’re involved in and seem to communicate enough over Twitter that their many fans manage to feel as if they have some sort of insight into the union. Bizarre but wonderful, because if they can make that work then just maybe there is hope for the rest of us.

And then I’ve just mentioned the final thing worth mentioning. Gaiman is the sort of uses social media really well. Okay so I’ve all but left Twitter behind only to cheek on random occasions or check out something I’ve been told about through other mediums, but that doesn’t mean I can’t still admire someone who reaches out to their fans through the website. And Gaiman does. In fact, through his sharing pictures, events, thoughts, and witticisms a person really starts to have the delusion that they know who this man is. And that’s just sort of cool.

About Lindsay

I have a C'est Moi page, you should probably just read that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Weekly Crush and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

