Weekly Crush.

As promised, only two days late.

Dr. John Watson


How You Know Him:

More often than not known by his title rather than his name, ie Dr. Watson; hanging around 221B Baker St. with friend and colleague Sherlock Holmes, trying to convince the later to please stop making that terrible racket with the violin and find a new case already.

Why He’s Crushworthy:

For me, there’s a certain something about the sidekick. The person who sticks around the one who gets all the glory, contributing but very seldom getting the return. Of course it helps that Watson is basically the biographer of his friend’s life and adventures. It gives him a certain edge, I think. But also, it takes a lot of patience to put up with someone like Holmes; who’s arrogant, exasperating, and has the habit of acting before he’s brought everyone else up to speed, and Watson really sort of seems to be the only one who can do it. With the small exception of land lady, Mrs. Hudson. Okay, so one could easily argue a certain amount of co-dependency issues stemming from Watson’s friendship with Holmes, but I have to look at it from a certain perspective. If I was friends with someone who continually got themselves entrenched in conspiracy and mystery I’d have a hard time extricating myself from the situation too. To be honest, which I am rather convinced is the case with Watson and Holmes, I’m not sure I’d want to even try.

And, while I’m talking about Watson in general I suppose I have to consider his incarnations. I think that everyone is sort of aware of Arthur Conan Doyle’s tales of Sherlock Holmes from when they are pretty small, but I’m also fairly sure that they (at least, in this instance, I) are not aware of the specifics. We know Holmes and we know his companion, Watson, but we don’t know about the giant dog that’s plagued the Baskervilles or “a scarlet thread of murder running through the colourless skein of life”. The first time I recall watching a Sherlock Holmes story was a terrible terrible version which I, ironically or not so ironically, talked about in my previous post, staring James D’Arcy, Roger Morlidge, Vincent D’Onofrio, and Gabrielle Anwar. Oh, it’s called Sherlock: A Case of Evil. Did I mention it’s terrible? In it Holmes meets Watson as the latter is an early practitioner of autopsies. What? I don’t know, we’ll just leave it at that. And of course there is Guy Ritchie’s take of Sherlock Holmes, which was brilliant in all ways except it didn’t draw from Conan Doyle’s work and stripped the famous detective of all his trademarks and not of his eccentricities. I’m, in generally, not particularly a Jude Law fan, but as Watson I gotta say… it worked for me.

But the main reason why I’ve decided upon John H. Watson as my Weekly Crush at this particular juncture is because PBS has finally played Steven Moffat’s amazingly updated adaptation for the BBC, Sherlock, with Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman as Holmes and Watson respectively. I don’t have enough good things to say about this show. Only three episodes have aired as part of the first series, though they were a good ninety minutes each, but thank god the old Beeb has commissioned three more. I don’t have the slightest idea of who Cumberbatch is, never seen or heard of him before, but he was born to play Holmes. And Freeman, who is know primarily as a comedian (The Office), although he took a turn as Arthur Dent in the most recent version of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (which is, essentially, still a comedy role) and was just cast as Bilbo Baggins in the long coming film version of The Hobbit, is frankly just perfect. I might have loved him already but I don’t think that prejudices me too much.

About Lindsay

I have a C'est Moi page, you should probably just read that.
This entry was posted in Weekly Crush and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekly Crush.

  1. heather says:

    I thought Vincent was good in it. In fact, my cat is named D’onofrio!

  2. ladylinzi says:

    He WAS good in it. It wasn’t the acting I disliked, it was the script.

    Thanks for commenting!

  3. Pingback: Diversionary Tactics. | Eating Fast Food Alone in the Car.

Leave a Reply

