Weekly Crush.

Roy Trenneman

How You Know Him:

Good natured yet undeniably put upon support technician at Reynholm Industries in The IT Crowd.

Why He’s Crushworthy:

On shows like The IT Crowd there’s a certain dynamic that is generally always followed. There are three sorts of characters; the completely socially defunct, the awkward yet desperately trying to fit in despite staunchly liking decidedly dorky things and associating with the socially defunct character, and the formerly relatively normal, able to understand and get along with the rest of the world until prolonged exposure to the former two categories commenced. Roy’s the second one, and while it’s clear early on that the truly absolutely hilarious character is clearly Maurice Moss, I was telling K a few weeks ago, I have a soft spot for Roy.

Why? Well, there is the part where he always does seem to be trying to have a semblance of a normal life. But that’s not really it, it’s not a pity thing, it’s a I-actually-like-those-dorky-things thing.

He’s always getting the short end of the stick, which makes him hilarious, but I also think the character is sort of funny in his own right. Take for instance this line: “Balloons explode, Jen. They explode suddenly, and unexpectedly. They are filled with the capacity to give me a little fright, and I find that unbearable.” There are several things in this sentence that cause my immediate reaction to be something along the lines of ‘I need to hang out with this guy’. Firstly, who wouldn’t want to tease someone endlessly about their fear of balloon? But secondly, it’s the phrasing. It’s not just a fright, it’s a “little fright” and it’s not awful or annoying. It doesn’t even suck. It’s unbearable. I suppose if I had script writers writing my dialogue I might be witty all the time too, but I get a certain kind of amusement out of a turn of phrase.

He has some pretty high standards, all while bemoaning the fact that he’s single. He doesn’t like typical things that most men like but he also doesn’t seem to have a problem with that. He’s a little like me. His problem , fundamentally, seems to be how he’s perceived by others. He doesn’t want to change, he seems relatively comfortable with who he is, but I don’t think he’d mind if the world changed to be a little like him.

About Lindsay

I have a C'est Moi page, you should probably just read that.
This entry was posted in Weekly Crush and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

